BYA 2019 winner: Tom Slingsby

In a category with some outstanding performances under sail, voting was very tight, but Aussie legend Tom Slingsby’s expertise at the helm of his nation’s SailGP boat drew even more votes than the British crew of J/70 world champions, Eat Sleep J Repeat, who were a very close second. SailGP’s first season saw some world class sailing talent take to the water but Slingsby’s mastery of the fiendish F50 flying cats was pre-eminent. The Aussie team was rarely beaten. The former Laser world and Olympic champion ultimately took the boat to a new racing speed record of 51.7 knots in front of thousands of onlookers at Cowes. The final matchrace, for the $1m prize, saw Slingsby go head to head with old rival and good friend Nathan Outteridge, who was helming Team Japan. The outcome was never in doubt. Tom Slingsby is your Sailor of the Year.